Seattle has a reputation for having bad Mexican food.  This is only a half true statement… there is a lot of bad Mexican food here, but there are a few gems hidden here and there.  My absolute favorite place to go is La Carta de Oaxaca in Ballard.  “Ugh, Ballard” you might say and my response to you would be “SHUT UP FOOL!  This place is worth it!”

I found this place via Yelp shortly after moving into the city and have been back many, many times.  In fact, it’s easily my most visited restaurant since being here.  Their Tacos al Pastor are to.die.for.  The pork in these tacos is incredibly tender, slight spicy, and straight up delicious (if you don’t like pork, get the beef version instead).  They are easily my favorite menu item, but everything else I’ve tried has been very tasty as well.  Their mole sauce is another stand out.

This place has been consistently packed every time that I’ve visited, although I’ve thankfully never had to wait for a table.  The restaurant itself is a little small, but people come and go quickly.  Oh, another favorite feature of this place?  There’s a salsa bar!  There’s somewhere between 6 and 8 salsas with different spiciness levels available to choose from.  They’re not labeled though, so it’s a bit of a guessing game as to how spicy the salsa that you pick actually is.

I’ve had a few people mention that they feel it’s a little pricey for what you get, but I don’t personally think that myself.  In fact, I was there just last night and the total bill for 2 was $30.  We both left quite full and happy.  If you’re in Seattle and you’re a fan of Mexican food you owe it to yourself to check this place out.

